I’m still here! :) 

Published March 14, 2017 by thefamilyof5

Those of you that don’t follow me on Instagram or Facebook/twitter may have been thinking I’d given up with my blogging. I haven’t. I’m still here. I just have less time to write these days.

The girls are outside playing in the sunshine with the children from our street, the hoovering is done, the surfaces are clean, the washing is drying and it’s too early to cook tea! So I thought I’d make the most of it and post a little update.

We won!! Our fight with the local authority for funding for tuition is over. 2016 was quite possibly my most stressful year ever. 2017 is looking much better. We have a tutor for 1 hour of maths and a tutor for 2 hours of English each week all funding through big girls EHCP and middle girl’s newly acquired EHCP. Which means I can spend more time being just ‘mom’ which is what my girls really need from me. Oh and we have more time for fun things like science and art and French, Oh and making chocolate bars like we did today 🙂

So things are really looking up for us all. A huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. We’re really beginning to truly ‘enjoy’ life again.

I was sitting here today, listening to the radio (and squeals and screeches from outside along with the rattle of scooters zooming up and down the street) and reading random deep and meaningful quotes about the meaning of life when it struck me. I fought for our family and I won. If I hadn’t, if I’d allowed us to continue on the path we were heading down, then I’m confident big girl would no longer be living with us. But she is, she’s here, and we’re all safe. And I did that! I stuck by her when she needed me to and I fought her corner for her. I endured her violence and aggression whilst protecting everyone else. I hope one day she is able to reflect and see how much she is loved. I hope she’s able to feel proud of herself and her family.

I know this is a bit of a jumbled up post, but I’m really going to try and post more regularly. I’ve really missed writing here, I find it very therapeutic to off load my brain to the poor unsuspecting readers of my blog 🙂 be grateful I didn’t do it much in 2016, it really wouldn’t have been a pretty sight! If you don’t follow my Instagram or Facebook pages, please do, I’ve been there a lot more than I have here.

5 comments on “I’m still here! :) 

  • Hi, There is a parenting strategy used with adoptive kids that I can’t remember the name of it, but it seems like a UK strategy. I remember it includes “playful.” Any idea what it is? It’s driving me insane. 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

