Adoption is not a quick fix!

Published June 3, 2016 by thefamilyof5

I’ve just stumbled across this post, how ironic that I mentioned home schooling.

It’s a shame I wasn’t heard, I might have 3 children in school right now.

The Family of 5's Journey

Im so tired of being faced with people that believe ‘adoption fixes everything’. The looks of disbelief when I try and explain why something may be more difficult for my girls to manage, or the eye rolling when I suggest they may need some extra support through a tricky period, or the sighs of exasperation when I try and explain how their actions impact on my girls emotional well being or the lack of interest when I ask for someone to be mindful of their words/actions.

download (11)

For example: Learning about ‘Family Tree’s’ can bring up all manner of issues, for a start it could leave the child wondering who they’re supposed to include in this family tree, which family? Topics about War and Famine, Deprivation and Loss, do I really need to explain why this might be tricky for some adopted children? seriously? Films like Annie, Despicable Me, Oliver, Rapunzel…

View original post 801 more words

Leave a Reply

