Thank you……. (slightly sarcastic post,)

Published August 3, 2014 by thefamilyof5

I’d just like to take a moment to thank the staff in school for all the extra effort that was put in to supporting my children with the transition to the new classes in September.

The time that was taken helping them to feel familiar in what will be their new surroundings for the next year.

The thoughtfulness in helping to build relationships with new teachers that they will need to try and trust in order to learn.

The empathy for the trauma they have endured in their short little lives and the emotional scars they still live with every day.

The understanding of why trust is so important for them, yet so difficult for them to give.

The openness needed to read the literature I gave you about attachment and trauma and how to support this in school, and not rolling your eyes and being so quick to label me as a neurotic parent.

And finally, thank you, for listening to me when I pointed out all of the above and explained the catastrophic impact NOT supporting the girls would have on our summer and their emotional well-being.

Oh wait, you didn’t, and that’s why this morning big girl has screamed and shouted and hurt herself before collapsing into a pathetic exhausted heap, screaming out her fears of the unknown for September, the ‘different’ classroom that she’s terrified of and the new teacher that she’s worried about, truly, we couldn’t have achieved this without you, so from the bottom of my heart, Thank you!

12 comments on “Thank you……. (slightly sarcastic post,)

  • So sorry to hear this….especially after you went to so much effort to prepare letters for the new teachers & to provide other information that would help too. When will schools listen? Hope big girl settles soon x

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      Thanks for your support x

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      Seems nothings changed then if this is the same experiences you had 😦

  • Sorry to hear they haven’t been supportive. I don’t get why these people don’t listen. I keep telling people Stig is going to be horrendous when he starts high school and all I keep hearing is “you never know, he might surprise you”. No I know him, it is going to be tough. Hope things calm and you get some good holiday time and I’m sure you can maybe talk through as much as possible what will happen.

    Thanks for linking to #WASO xx

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      I spoke to them about my concerns over high school and I was met with what sounded like a recorded message ‘well our feeder school is xyz so of course i’d suggest there’, no thought for big girls personal needs at all!
      Really hoping Stigs move goes smoothly for you all, will be thinking of you xx

  • Wow, thought ours was the only ‘amazing’ school, hope you don’t mind me tagging on our heartfelt thanks to our school who didn’t tell 11 year old her support worker won’t be coming back in September, they were so concerned that dd would be so devastated and concerned about the impact this would have on her anxiety disorder that thought best thing was just to surprise her with the news in September – after all surely after 6 weeks holiday her anxiety and attachment issues should be resolved(if only the parents would put the effort in and keep those boundaries!) . Thoughts and best wishes being sent your way in solidarity;)

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      Some schools just don’t get it do they, how on earth your school thought surprising her would be the best option i’ll never know?! Its not rocket science is it, kids need preparation, and support!
      Hugs for you all, hope September goes smoothly xx

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      Thanks for your kind words xx

  • I’d like to say I’m surprised but I hear this so often. I hope that you’re able to help and also get something sorted with the school. It breaks my heart to hear of stories like this when it’s so easy to help avoid it.

    • Things got worse, I wrote an official letter of complaint to school. I’m really hoping they start supporting us rather than pulling in a different direction.
      Gutted it came to this 😦
      Thanks for your kind words xx

  • Leave a Reply

