Tie Stress!

Published November 19, 2013 by thefamilyof5

-_- That pretty much sums up my thoughts tonight.

Yesterday baby girl came home bouncing off the ceilings, she was willful, contrary, impulsive and controlling.
After a difficult evening she ended up being sent to bed early 😦

She was up in the night, sobbing, a bad dream about someone getting their head chopped off. They’ve been doing Tudors in school so I presume that’s where that came from. She did talk about it quite a lot a few weeks ago after a school trip, but nothing recently really. Anyway, baby girl has bad dreams, they’ve been getting more frequent actually, probably once a week at least, I think its her age!? Any way usually I’m met with a tired looking baby girl telling me in a mono tone voice that she’s had a bad dream, usually I walk her back to her bed and settle her down, she usually takes a while to go back off, sometimes over an hour. Last night however, she was sobbing, real tears and everything. I pulled her in to my bed a cuddled her until she stopped. I took her back to bed and helped her snuggle down before going back to bed myself.

She was awake really early, coughing, she’s had a cough for a few weeks, she generally has a cough November to April so its nothing unusual. But when I got her up for school she looked terrible, pale, sunken eyes, sad looking really.
I didn’t take her to school today, she was too tired really and I know historically that her most difficult school days have been due to sleep deprivation so taking her would have felt like I was setting her up to fail.

During our morning routine middle girl and big girl kept mentioning their tie’s, and how they needed to look smart. It wasn’t until the morning breakfast rush was over and we were in the car on the way to school that I heard it again and asked why they were fussing over their tie’s. ‘The visitors are coming to school today we need to look smart’ said big girl. Then I remembered the letter that had come home from school last night. Ofsted are visiting today!

Suddenly it all made sense. Do you remember when I wrote about Ofsted Stress before, click here, well it seems I was right. After a quick explanation to all the girls about who Ofsted were, and how they were coming to inspect the school and the teachers rather than their tie’s, they seemed to relax.

Their stress levels are already set on ‘high’ making them ultra sensitive to things. Pretty much everything for them is stressful, they worry about the most insignificant and bizarre things as well as the important things.
For my girls Ofsted is just one stress too much.

Baby girl had a great day with me today, she’s had my undivided attention. so its no surprise that when I went out tonight to attend the 3rd of a 4 session training course, Mr Familyof5 had no difficult behaviors at all and she fell asleep soundly, unlike previous weeks.
She was regulated tonight, I did that. I just wish I could be available for her like that every day.

Any way, I’ve digressed. The point I was trying to make is, I know why we have Ofsted but seriously, my kids can’t be the only ones that pick up on the stresses that arise in school around their visits!?

One comment on “Tie Stress!

  • Oh poor Baby Girl. Stress is so tiring – for all. And well done for linking stress to Ofsted, I wouldn’t have made that link and will bear it in mind when they visit Missy’s school next.

  • Leave a Reply

