Baby Girls letter to her new teacher.

Published July 1, 2013 by thefamilyof5

I’ve put together introduction booklets for the girls new teachers in September, last year I shared Big Girls letter and many of you commented on how much you liked it so I’m going to share them all with you this time.

Hello my name is Baby Girl

My mummy has put together this little booklet to help you understand me.

In 2010 I came to live with my new mummy and daddy. I’ve had a very difficult start in life and this has meant that I’ve developed a little differently to other children, I’m emotionally and socially very behind so I might need you to be extra considerate of this sometimes and not expect me to be the same as the other children my age.

Mommy says your school will be good for me as it’s small and calm and will help me feel safe, my last school was very big and busy and I felt very anxious a lot of the time. When I’m anxious I worry about who will meet my needs, that can mean I spend a lot of time in the medical room with fake hurts and invisible bumps, but please don’t send me away, I’m just making sure someone will take care of me. Sometimes I get worried about food as well, mummy says I’m obsessed with food when I’m stressed. Mummy also says I’m very clever and if you help me to feel safe then I will be able to stop worrying about making sure I’m safe and will be able to show you just how clever I really am.

Sometimes the adults in my early life did things to make me feel scared and frightened, my life was very chaotic. This means I find it very hard to trust adults around me to keep me safe. Mommy says I need to know you’re keeping an eye on me. If I think you’ve forgotten me I will do something silly to try and get your attention. Please let me know I’m safe by keeping a close eye on me. Because my life used to be so chaotic, I sometimes crave that familiar chaos around me, I find comfort in children that create chaos. Please help me to make better choices with my friendships, it’s important for me to learn that I can be happy without chaos in my life for me to be able to heal from my past traumas.

Sometimes when it looks like I’m having lots of fun and behaving ‘silly or excited’, I’m actually not coping very well and may need your help to calm me down and reassure me that everything is ok. I find unstructured time at school a little overwhelming because I can’t regulate my behavior. Mummy says I’m a bit like a bottle of fizzy pop, and the excitement of school shakes me up and up, so you need to help keep me calm to I don’t fizz all over the place. When I’m coping I’m very kind, considerate, thoughtful, chatty and sensitive.

I might get upset if we do any work or topics on families or about when we were babies.  Some of my memories may be difficult for me to think about as well as talk about, there may be things I don’t know about my early years making it even more difficult for me to take part. I can get very confused and upset about my past.

There hasn’t been many things in my life that I’ve been able to control so I like to take control of other things and I do this at school by not eating my lunch. Please help me to learn that not eating my lunch will only make me feel hungry, please don’t let me spend all of my lunch break in the dinner hall, Mommy says 20 to 30 minutes is plenty and please don’t give me snacks or milk if I say I’m hungry, mummy says she will make sure I don’t starve.

It would really help my mummy if you could tell her about any upsets, sulks or strops I have at school. I don’t like telling my mummy when I’ve had a bad day. Mummy likes to help me when I’ve been finding things difficult by keeping me close and calm so I can feel safe again.

My mummy has put this book together to help you understand me I hope you will read it. If you want to talk to my mummy about anything in this book or anything you see me doing or hear me saying, she will be happy to chat, she can talk about me for hours and she knows me better than anyone else.

My mummy has put lots of useful information in this booklet, please copy anything you might want to refer to again or keep as a reminder, please give this book back to mummy when you’ve had a good read so she can give it to my next teacher next year. Mommy says she knows me better than anyone else so if she can do anything to help you, help me, she will.

I hope we have a lovely time learning together.

Copies of Education Now and Understanding Why included.

10 comments on “Baby Girls letter to her new teacher.

  • Just wanted to say so much for sharing this. I’ve copied bits of it and added my own for our LO’s new teacher. Thank you so much.

  • Fantastic idea Claire and so simply but descriptively written. I think it’s so helpful for teachers to know where the behaviour is coming from and that it’s different from other kids and so needs a different approach.
    We are having a tough time with J at a new day care (first three days were great! haha) and I think this is a great idea i’m going to use to help them understand him better. I’m sure we’ll be needing it too when school starts.
    Thanks so much!

  • Leave a Reply

