A proud moment…….

Published June 22, 2013 by thefamilyof5

I won’t deny I thought it was out of her reach. Having barely scraped through for her last (50mtr) distance badge I thought the chances of her being able to swim double the distance was optimistic at best. I was nervous about how she would react to the ‘failure’, her self esteem already low, another knock could set her back so far. So I kept reminding her that as long as she did her best nothing else mattered.

But big girl proved me wrong and got her 100mtr swimming badge this week!

Her technique was, shall we say, ‘interesting’, but her determination to succeed was faultless!

I think I’m more proud of her determination than her achievement, this is the girl that 3 years ago refused to even ‘try’ to achieve anything for fear of failure!

Very proud of my big girl!

8 comments on “A proud moment…….

  • That is wonderful, what a huge achievement. So pleased for you both that she made it and I think you’re right sometimes the shear determination is what is most impressive. I think it’s that survival mode that sets in. Thanks for Sharing on Memory Box.

  • Leave a Reply

