Stress, how do you do your’s?

Published June 11, 2013 by thefamilyof5

Stress, we all do it, but how do you do it?

Stress is a person’s response to a stressor such as an environmental condition or a stimulus. Stress is a body’s way to react to a challenge. According to the stressful event, the body’s way to respond to stress is by sympathetic nervous system activation which results in the fight-or-flight response. Stress typically describes a negative condition or a positive condition that can have an impact on a person’s mental and physical well-being.

My girls all respond to stress in different ways and likewise, so do I.

Big girl gets very teary when she’s stressed. She becomes very bossy and dependant on how stressed she is, she sometimes self harms. She struggles more with her sleep when she is stressed. I’d describe Big girl as being very ‘stressy’.

Middle girl bottles all her emotions inside, so well in fact, that its actually very difficult to know how she is feeling at any time, she hides everything behind a huge smile. I think its safe to say that amongst other feelings she has, she feels frustration and anger, I see it behind her eyes sometimes. I’m not sure what her response to stress is though because I can never tell if she’s stressed.

Baby girl is a very sensitive little girl, but she doesn’t really understand emotions at all right now, so when she gets stressed she gets very confused about why she feels the way she feels, this can lead to her feeling chaotic and mixed up. This often looks like ‘crazy and silly’ type behaviour, but as her mom, I know this is stress.

When Daddy gets stressed, which isn’t very often, he gets quiet, he doesn’t sleep well and becomes irritable.

When I get stressed my face feels really hot whilst my body shivers, the smallest of tasks can feel colossal, I become irritable and find myself with an insatiable need for sleep.

5 very different responses to stress.

So how do you do your’s?

3 comments on “Stress, how do you do your’s?

  • I get very ‘flappy’ and need to move around! I get what I call the ‘fuzzes’ in my head and loose my focus…..and get very snippy.

    My daughter gets very tearful and overwhelmed and then gets cross and is very self critical…

    and my son….well, he goes quiet, and takes himself off to his room….

    Living with the children on my own has made me very aware of how my being stressed really impacts on them. They get worried and react to my stress levels – so I’ve learned not to show how stressed/worried I am as it’s not fair on them.

    Luckily for us we all share the same sense of humour and are able to take a joke, and laugh at ourselves.

    As a mum/parent sometimes we forget that our moods and behaviour can drive that of our children – we must be able to regulate our own emotions to help our children manage theirs. Tricky.

    Even trickier if your children have a history of trauma and abuse.

    Hats off to you Claire!

    • Your ‘flappy’ sounds like baby girl, your daughters response sounds like big girl and your sons like my husbands 🙂

      Baby girl is very sensitive to the emotions of those around her.

      Its really hard to remain regulated whilst those around you are not isn’t it. I take my hat off to you for doing it all single handed!
      Thanks for sharing your experiences and Thanks for your kinds words 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

