Things always come in 3’s

Published May 23, 2013 by thefamilyof5

You all know that saying, the one about things coming in 3’s, well it couldn’t be more true here.

I’m feeling pretty fed up tonight, 3 issues to deal with, all 3 girls in trouble in some way or another and tonight, even though its no different to any other night lately, it all just feels like too much.

I know there is probably an element of my mood involved, quite possibly I have a cold coming, there may be some hormonal contribution and I’m definitely tired and emotionally exhausted, which is also no different to any other night lately, but tonight I really don’t feel like I’m coping very well at all.

Nothing major has happened, it never does, its just a constant stream of non-major events grinding me down bit by bit every day, stress upon stress, worry upon worry, leaving me constantly balancing on the edge of coping. I spend most of my days holding it in, brushing it off, smiling and hoping tomorrow’s a better day.

I sound like I’m being dramatic don’t I, and I probably am, but right now, this minute, this is how it feels. You know that ‘ice cream’ headache sensation you get when you fight back the tears, the lump in the throat, the desperation to just curl up and hide, well its here. And quite often it feels like this, in fact I can’t remember when it didn’t feel like this. Is this parenting? Is this what life is about because quite honestly I’m not enjoying it one bit!

But I know tomorrow is a new day, so I’ll cling to the hope that it will be a better one, again!

4 comments on “Things always come in 3’s

  • I have a wobbly lip just reading this as it sounds like you’re having a tough time of it at the moment. You’re not being dramatic. You’re just being an overloaded human being. You’ve got so much on your plate and it’s impossible to be super smiley Wonder Woman all the time. It is important to listen to those feelings though, before you end up like me with a back covered with Psoriasis. Are you able to have a little bit of “me time”? I find yoga helps me find my inner Zen Mummy again when I feel like that. Maybe you need a bit of help or a day off? Take care of yourself. It’s the hardest job in the world being a good parent and you don’t get to go home for a rest at the end of the day. Hang in there xx

  • Leave a Reply

