Child Protection

Published December 21, 2012 by thefamilyof5

Child protection is something that’s always in the forefront of my thoughts.

My children, like all children need protecting from many things. Neglect, emotional trauma, all of the things that they were not protected from in the beginning.

I worry my children will get hungry.
I worry their friends will fall out with them.
I worry they’ll grow out of their shoes and I won’t notice.
I worry I won’t get a stain out of their clothes.
I worry I won’t get their hair tidy enough for school.
I worry they’ll fail at their school work.
I worry I won’t rub that cut knee enough or kiss away the hurt properly.
I worry I’ll forget some important event like a school play or award.
I worry I’ll overlook or not notice something important to them.
I worry I’ll not ‘hear’ something they’re trying to convey.
I worry that they’ll feel unloved, unliked, alone.

I worry because all of these things and many more can rekindle the scary feelings they became accustomed too. Feelings no child should ever know.

My girls felt rejection tonight, rejection from grandparents that just cant/wont put them first.

I felt failure tonight, I failed to protect them.

3 comments on “Child Protection

  • Oh, this makes me sad. Sometimes family is worse than strangers… I know what you mean about wanting to protect your kids and worrying about not doing a good enough job. But at the same time, we have to face the fact that we cannot protect them from everything/everyone. We have to just focus on the things we can control (I seriously doubt your kids will get hungry or outgrow their shoes without your notice!) and then prepare them as best we can for the things we can’t control. Most importantly, we can be there beside them as they face these things. Even if others who are supposed to love them can’t or won’t, you can reassure them that your love is always strong, always and forever. And that’s what matters most.

  • Leave a Reply

