The Mystery Twist Thing

Published July 31, 2012 by thefamilyof5

Middle girls Auditory processing issues used to be quite cute, now they can be quite frustrating.

As an example of the daily frustrating conversations we have with middle girl, I’ll tell you about this mornings chat. Whilst getting dressed this morning middle girl and I had this conversation.

Middle girl: Mom you know the twist thing, its broke in two
Me: What twist thing?
Middle girl: The twist thing, its broke in half
Me: What does it look like
Middle girl: A twist thing
Me: What do you do with it?
Middle girl: Watch it or look at it
Me: Where is it?
Middle girl: The playroom
Me: I don’t know what you mean, I’ll have a look when we go downstairs ok

Turns out the twist thing that had broken in two was a wood louse?!

Why I didn’t gather that from our chat I’ll never know :/

4 comments on “The Mystery Twist Thing

    • I chuckled when I wrote it, but when it happened I was busy trying to get everyone dressed, so a 5 minutes chat that should have only taken 5 seconds feels really frustrating, especially when it happens so frequently.
      She does have a diagnosis of Auditory processing difficulties so I really should be more patient, but after 2 years with no sign of improvement, sometimes its just plain irritating.

  • My…that sounds a LOT like a conversation w/ my spouse! I don’t know if we should laugh or cry together!

    I know it’s hard, but kudosto you for working hard to get her some assistance w/ this early on. It was more common in my husband’s generation for a-parents (and bio-parents too) to be in denial about such things.

  • Leave a Reply

