Poor Kitty!

Published January 23, 2012 by thefamilyof5

I ‘think’ my eldest daughter intentionally hurt the cat this morning. I say ‘think’ because I can’t be sure.  I’ve had 3 different versions of events so far from her.  The first was ‘accidentally tripping over the cat’. Then she retracted this and said she ‘kicked the cat’. Then finally saying it was all lies and ‘she never touched the cat at all and doesn’t know why she yelped’. My closest witness, my baby girl, said she ‘absolutely definitely actually saw her kick the cat’?! (her words ha ha ha) so what to believe!? What I do know, is that my usually very sociable cat, is very upset and very nervous of her and took a lot of coaxing to get out of hiding this morning and again tonight when she returned from school.

To my horror she mimic’d the yelping noise the cat made, for fun, whilst waiting to go to school this morning. She then spent the car journey to school with her eyes boring a hole in the back of my head and smiling like something from a horror movie! My daughters shown no remorse, only regret that she got in to trouble for lying. (I cant punish her for anything else as I don’t actually know what she has or hasn’t done.)

It could have been a simple accident, but the fact that Im suspecting otherwise shows me that I don’t trust her and I don’t know what she’s capable of.

Of my 3 girls, she’s the one I understand/trust the least.

 

2 comments on “Poor Kitty!

  • I so feel for you with this! I try not to show much affection to our pets when the kids are around because I don’t ever want Son to make them a target. I know all the theory behind why traumatised kids act like this, but truly, it’s awful isn’t it?

  • Leave a Reply

