My Daughter – by Debby Andrews

Published May 20, 2011 by thefamilyof5

My Daughter – by Debby Andrews

You have so many questions, for such a little girl.

Such complex thoughts and feelings, your mind must be a whirl.

“Why couldn’t my first Mummy keep me?” You ask with innocence.

But I don’t understand myself, it doesn’t make much sense.

What demons were within her?

Why couldn’t she see the pain?

The world your first Mother came from,

Is one of fear and shame.

The drugs became her lifeline,

She couldn’t stop the game.

It wasn’t that she didn’t want to –

Perhaps she’s not to blame.

I think about her now and then,

And wonder if she knows,

That the daughter she couldn’t care for,

Is safe and loved, and grows.

“She was too sick”, I tell you,

But you just can’t let it go.

“Did she die and go to heaven?”

“I miss her, does she know?”

Oh …….., if I could, I’d take away your pain.

But you are strong,

And you are tough,

You’ll make it through the rain.

And when you do, I’ll be here,

Standing by your side.

My love for you grows stronger,

It cannot be denied.

God blessed us with you ………

You’re our Angel from above,

We are thankful every day,

That you are ours to love.

Leave a Reply

